Australia Out, Bahrain In As 2021 Components 1 Season Opener


Illustration for article titled 2021 Formula 1 Season Will Now Start In Bahrain And Australian GP Pushed Back

Picture: Paul Crock/AFP by way of Getty Photos (Getty Photos)

We had been advised simply days in the past to anticipate adjustments to the provisional 2021 Components 1 calendar — and the adjustments, they’re a-comin’. The season was to start with the Australian Grand Prix on March 21, however now that race has been shifted all the best way again to November 21, the place it can function the third-to-last spherical of the yr.

Taking its place because the opener would be the Bahrain Grand Prix, conserving its current March 28 spot. The 2021 F1 season will successfully start every week later than initially deliberate, and in a special location. However wait, there’s extra!

The Chinese language Grand Prix, deliberate for April 11, will now not be held on that date due to journey restrictions. As an alternative, F1 will go to Imola, in Italy, on April 18. The Shanghai occasion should still occur at one other time, nevertheless. F1 administration says it’s nonetheless speaking issues by way of with the federal government and the race’s promoter, and that there’s “potential to reschedule the race later within the season.”

The unique confirmed calendar had a void on the weekend of April 25, with a race to be decided. No matter race that’s going to be, it’s now slid again to Might 2. Right here’s how the 2021 itinerary seems in the mean time, per

28 March – Bahrain (Sakhir)
18 April – Italy (Imola*)
2 Might – TBC
9 Might – Spain (Barcelona)
23 Might – Monaco (Monaco)
6 June – Azerbaijan (Baku)
13 June – Canada (Montreal)
27 June – France (Le Castellet)
4 July – Austria (Spielberg)
18 July – United Kingdom (Silverstone)
1 August – Hungary (Budapest)
29 August – Belgium (Spa)
5 September – Netherlands (Zandvoort)
12 September – Italy (Monza)
26 September – Russia (Sochi)
3 October – Singapore (Singapore)
10 October – Japan (Suzuka)
24 October – USA (Austin)
31 October – Mexico (Mexico Metropolis)
7 November – Brazil (Sao Paulo)
21 November – Australia (Melbourne*)
5 December – Saudi Arabia (Jeddah**)
12 December – Abu Dhabi (Yas Island)

*Revisions to calendar are topic to World Motor Sport Council approval **Topic to circuit homologation

All in all, we’re nonetheless taking a look at 23 rounds — a document for F1 season size — although given how rapidly issues have modified already, I’m keen to guess we don’t see all of them by way of. Let’s hope the Australian Grand Prix can occur at its later date, security allowing in fact. Melbourne has such a terrific ambiance, and it’d be a disgrace to lose the race in back-to-back years.

Supply hyperlink


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here