McLaughlin to affix elite IndyCar firm


Scott McLaughlin joins an elite record of Pennzoil pilots

Scott McLaughlin is ready to affix an elite record of drivers to pilot a Pennzoil-backed ‘Yellow Submarine’ within the Indianapolis 500.

Earlier this week Crew Penske pulled the covers off McLaughlin’s Chevrolet-powered Dallara IR-18 within the resplendent yellow color scheme.

It’s a livery that has a protracted historical past within the IndyCar Collection by means of its numerous iterations relationship again to the early days of North American open-wheel racing.

The yellow, purple, and black Pennzoil paint scheme was first made well-known within the late Seventies and into the early Eighties by Al Unser and Johnny Rutherford.

Al Unser and the unique Yellow Submarine, Chaparral 2K, in 1979

Many consider the unique Yellow Submarine to be that of the Chaparral 2K, a Method 1-inspired floor impact IndyCar.

Unser was the primary to pilot the Yellow Submarine in 1979, but it surely was Rutherford who would carry the intense color scheme its first success, successful the 1980 Indianapolis 500 from pole place.

In that very same yr, he received the IndyCar Collection for Chaparral, scoring 5 race wins and claiming three additional podiums.

Rutherford would marketing campaign the Pennzoil paint job till the tip of 1982, at which level Crew Penske bought its palms on the oil sponsorship for 1983.

Rick Mears and the Penske PC-17 in 1988

Rick Mears would wheel the Pennzoil blacked entry, two of his 4 Indianapolis 500 wins coming within the daring yellow livery.

“Rocket Rick” stays certainly one of Roger Penske’s most profitable drivers, producing three title wins within the CART period.

His two wins with Pennzoil got here driving a March 84C and Penske PC-17 in 1984 and 1988 respectively.

Within the years that adopted, the oil sponsorship shifted from staff to staff.

Frenchman Gil de Ferran spent his first two years in CART racing with Pennzoil backing at Corridor/VDS Racing, however wouldn’t discover title success till transferring to Crew Penske.

There he would win back-to-back CART crowns in 2000 and 2001, albeit in Marlboro colors.

Sam Hornish Jnr within the Pennzoil-backed Panther Racing entry earlier than the 87th Indianapolis 500 in 2003

Sam Hornish Jnr had a prolonged relationship with Pennzoil, one which might observe him from IndyCar to NASCAR later in his profession.

Driving for Panther Racing, Hornish received the IndyCar Collection crown in 2001 and 2002 in a Pennzoil-backed automobile.

He would go on to race for Crew Penske, taking his third crown in 2006 in addition to that yr’s Indianapolis 500 in a Marlboro-backed entry.

In recent times, the Pennzoil scheme has been reserved for Helio Castroneves.

Helio Castroneves in a Pennzoil entry

Whereas the Brazilian has by no means received an IndyCar Collection title with The Captain, all three of his Indianapolis 500 wins have been with Crew Penske.

Castroneves by no means received the famed race at The Brickyard in a Pennzoil automobile, his greatest consequence a runner-up end in 2014.

Others to have raced within the IndyCar Collection with Pennzoil backing embrace ex-Method 1 drivers Teo Fabi of Italy and Columbian Roberto Guerrero, Canadian Scott Goodyear, American John Andretti, and South Africa’s Tomas Scheckter.

This yr McLaughlin will be a part of that record, hoping to emulate among the success earlier than him.

Supply hyperlink


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here