McLaughlin edges out Indy 500 winners in Texas take a look at


Scott McLaughlin within the #3

Scott McLaughlin has accomplished one other pre-season IndyCar Sequence take a look at, setting the twelfth quickest time in a 17-car area at Texas Motor Speedway.

McLaughlin debuted his new Pennzoil livery that he’ll run on this yr’s a hundred and fifth operating of the Indianapolis 500.

The Kiwi clocked 233 laps, setting a greatest lap of 23.762s at 218.16 mph.

The take a look at marked solely the second outing for McLaughlin on the high-speed oval, having made his speedway debut on the circuit a little bit over a yr in the past.

McLaughlin joined Staff Penske stable-mates Will Energy, Josef Newgarden, and Simon Pagenaud on the 1.5-mile superspeedway.

Patricio O’Ward of Arrow McLaren SP set the tempo with a 23.325s lap and a 222.25 mph common.

The 2018 Indy Lights winner edged out Andretti Autosport driver Alexander Rossi on a 23.473s whereas Meyer-Shank Racing’s Jack Harvey was third with 23.505s.

Pagenaud (23.515s) was the main Staff Penske entry in fourth adopted carefully by team-mate Energy (23.520s).

O’Ward’s team-mate Rosenqvist was sixth quickest adopted by Colton Herta (Andretti Autosport), Rinus VeeKay (Ed Carpenter Racing), Newgarden, and Sebastian Bourdais (A.J. Foyt Racing).

Driver-owner Ed Carpenter fell 0.007s shy of the highest 10.

McLaughlin in twelfth was adopted by 2017 and 2020 Indianapolis 500 winner Takuma Sato (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing) and 2014 Indianapolis 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay of Andretti Autosport.

Hunter-Reay’s team-mate James Hinchcliffe, Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing), and Dalton Kellett (A.J. Foyt Racing) accomplished the 17-car area.

McLaughlin’s first aggressive outing of this yr’s IndyCar Sequence takes place at Barber Motorsports Park on April 18.

The collection will host a double-header at Texas Motor Speedway on Might 1-2 (native time).

Unofficial Outcomes: IndyCar Sequence pre-season take a look at, Texas Motor Speedway (Day 2)

Pos Num Driver Staff Engine Time Mph Laps
1 5 Pato O’Ward Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet 23.325 222.25 146
2 27 Alexander Rossi Andretti Autosport Honda 23.473 220.85 178
3 60 Jack Harvey Meyer-Shank Racing Honda 23.505 220.55 205
4 22 Simon Pagenaud Staff Penske Chevrolet 23.515 220.46 224
5 12 Will Energy Staff Penske Chevrolet 23.520 220.41 247
6 7 Felix Rosenqvist Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet 23.556 220.07 136
7 26 Colton Herta Andretti Autosport Honda 23.604 219.62 197
8 21 Rinus VeeKay Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet 23.608 219.59 208
9 2 Josef Newgarden Staff Penske Chevrolet 23.680 218.92 219
10 14 Sebastien Bourdais A.J. Foyt Racing Chevrolet 23.700 218.73 166
11 20 Ed Carpenter Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet 23.707 218.67 162
12 3 Scott McLaughlin Staff Penske Chevrolet 23.762 218.16 233
13 30 Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda 23.800 217.81 184
14 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Honda 23.807 217.75 167
15 29 James Hinchcliffe Andretti Autosport Honda 23.838 217.47 160
16 15 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda 23.895 216.95 207
17 4 Dalton Kellett A.J. Foyt Racing Chevrolet 23.922 216.7 140

Supply hyperlink


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here