Who Has the Most NASCAR Cup Sequence Wins?


With all due respect to IndyCar, the premier (and hottest) motorsports circuit within the U.S. is undoubtedly the NASCAR Cup Sequence. System 1 doubtless has that honor on a worldwide foundation however right here within the States, the Cup Sequence takes the cake.

Established in 1949 because the Strictly Inventory Division, the sequence was then generally known as the Grand Nationwide Division from 1950 to 1970 earlier than taking over the Cup Sequence identify in 1971, which is when NASCAR started leasing the naming rights. Winston, Nextel, Dash, and Monster Vitality have all been sponsors during the last 4 a long time however the sequence is now merely referred to as the NASCAR Cup Sequence as Coca-Cola, Busch Beer, Xfinity, and GEICO have shared sponsorship because the Premier Companions for the reason that begin of the 2020 season.

For the reason that sequence was first established, almost 200 completely different drivers have received no less than one race. Now, we’re not going to offer you that complete listing however we’ll no less than provide the high 5.

T4. Darrell Waltrip – 84

Darrell Waltrip spent 29 years (1972-2000) within the NASCAR Cup Sequence and recorded 84 victories in 809 begins with 24 of these victories coming in 1981 and 1982 — he received a dozen races in every of these years. Waltrip, a three-time factors champion, received the 1989 Daytona 500 and holds the document for probably the most victories within the Coca-Cola 600 with 5. His final Cup Sequence victory got here in 1992.

T4. Bobby Allison – 84

RELATED: Who Has the Most Daytona 500 Wins?

Bobby Allison made his NASCAR Cup Sequence debut in 1961 however stepped away for just a few years to compete in short-track racing earlier than returning to the sequence in 1965. In complete, Allison competed within the sequence in elements of 25 seasons and received 84 races in 718 begins, though he technically received 85 however wasn’t given credit score for a victory in 1971 as he wasn’t driving the right kind of automobile.

Some even credit score him with 86 wins as there was some controversy in Charlotte in 1973 with the engines of Cale Yarborough and Richard Petty, who completed forward of Allison on the Nationwide 500. However regardless of Allison’s objections and threats relating to what he thought had been outsized, which led to an investigation, the outcomes had been by no means modified. Allison’s ultimate Cup Sequence victory got here on the 1988 Daytona 500, his third victory at “The Nice American Race.”

3. Jeff Gordon – 93

RELATED: Jeff Gordon Was Viciously Attacked by Clint Bowyer’s Pit Crew After the ‘Rainbow Warrior’ Purposely Wrecked His ‘NASCAR on Fox’ Broadcast Accomplice

Like Bobby Allison, Jeff Gordon raced elements of 25 seasons (1992-2016) within the NASCAR Cup Sequence however received 9 extra races, though he did have an extra 87 begins. The “Rainbow Warrior” reached double digits in victories in three consecutive seasons from 1996 to 1998, which included the primary of three wins on the Daytona 500, and recorded no less than one victory in 20 of his 25 seasons. Gordon additionally received 4 factors championships throughout his Cup Sequence profession.

2. David Pearson – 105

Considered one of simply two drivers with greater than 100 NASCAR Cup Sequence victories, David Pearson received 105 races within the sequence in 574 begins over the course of 27 seasons (1960-1986). He tried a brief comeback in 1989 as he was set to interchange an injured Neil Bonnett in Charlotte however selected to not run as he skilled again and neck ache following testing for the occasion.

Now, what’s loopy about Pearson’s complete of 105 victories is that it truly ought to be much more. Nonetheless, for almost all of his profession, Pearson selected to not run a full Cup Sequence schedule, as an alternative opting solely to compete in sure races in most years. The three-time factors champion received his ultimate race in 1980.

1. Richard Petty – 200

RELATED: Richard Petty Surprisingly Didn’t Win All 200 of His NASCAR Cup Sequence Races for His Father’s Group

As most NASCAR Cup Sequence lovers know, Richard Petty tops the all-time wins listing with a fair 200 in 1,184 profession begins. “The King” competed within the sequence for 35 years (1958-1992) and is tied with Jimmie Johnson (who simply missed out on this countdown with 83 wins) and Dale Earnhardt Sr. (who sits in eighth place with 76 wins) for probably the most factors titles with seven. Petty received a document 27 races in 1967 and topped the 20 mark once more with 21 victories in 1971. With simply these two seasons alone, Petty could be tied for sixteenth on the all-time wins listing.

Stats courtesy of Racing Reference

Supply hyperlink


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here